Tiramisu

My hubby brought some packages of ladyfingers and puff pastries at home few days ago, I want to make something out of it but when I tasted the puff pastries it seemed that I want to eat it as it is because it was so yummy. I ate it with my green tea during snack time, the only remaining was the ladyfingers so I decided to make tiramisu. Actually, that was my first time to make tiramisu because it’s been a long time that I want to make one but the problem is the mascarpone cheese, I don’t know where can I buy it here in Kuwait. I always checked the cheese section of the grocery store every time we shopped but I cannot find one. I browsed online what is the best substitute for mascarpone and many articles said that a combination of cream cheese and thick cream will be fine but they said that if you want to make an authentic tiramisu, then there will be no substitute for mascarpone cheese. 😦 I had no choice!

Ingredients:
1 package 200 gm ladyfingers
1 ½ cups hot water
3 tbsp. coffee powder
¼ cup sugar
2 tbsp. vanilla
1 ½ cup mascarpone cheese (or 1 cup cream cheese blended with ½ cup thick cream)
3 tbsp. powdered sugar
2 tbsp. cocoa powder
grated chocolate bar

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, blend mascarpone cheese and powdered sugar (If using the substitute, blend cream cheese, thick cream and powdered sugar together) with an electric mixer on low for 2-3 minutes.
2. Dissolve coffee and sugar in water, add vanilla.
3. Layer half of the ladyfingers in the bottom of a shallow dish.
4. Pour half of the coffee mixture over the ladyfingers.
5. Spread half of the cheese mixture over the ladyfingers evenly. Then cover with the remaining half of the ladyfingers.
6. Pour the remaining half of the coffee again over the second layer of the ladyfingers, top with the remaining half cheese mixture.
7. Sprinkle cocoa powder on top and garnish with grated chocolate bar before serving.
8. Serve immediately or chill until serving time.

Leave a Reply

