Roast Turkey

Last Thursday I bought turkey for us to dine on the next day with my sibling and friends. It’s been a long time that I did not able to eat this kind of dish, my favorite is turkey barbecue but since we want to eat it at home, I decided to roast it in oven because my ideal way of eating barbecue is only eaten and grilled outdoors. I don’t know why! 🙂 Actually, that was my first time to cook turkey, since my favorite cook with this dish before was my late uncle who passed away more than 2 year back, he was an expert to cook any turkey recipe. Nevertheless, I still managed to roast it even not in a perfect way, lol 😀

Ingredients:
1 whole Turkey, about 3-4 kg.
2 onions
3 tbsp. crushed ginger
4 cloves garlic
1 large lemon, cut into halves
2 bay leaves

Marinade:
2 cups soy sauce
1 cup light soy sauce
1/2 cup tomato ketchup
1 tsp. black pepper powder
4 tbsp. sugar
4 cloves, crushed garlic
Juice of 2-3 lemons

Directions:
1. Defrost turkey if using frozen by soaking it in brine mixture (mixture of water and salt) for 2-3 hours.
2. Combine marinade in a large bowl.
3. Pat dry the turkey using paper towels, marinade for at least 8 hours or overnight, turning once in while to even absorption of marinade.
4. Pat dry, stuff the cavity with onions, ginger, garlic, lemon and bayleaves.
5. Roast in a preheated 175 degrees C oven for 2-3 hours or until done.

2 Responses

  1. I love to eat! This looks very yummy! Thanks for all the recipes here!

Leave a Reply

