Hot and Spicy Shrimp Fried Rice

Being married to a fried rice lover made me try to experiment many fried rice variations because I don’t want to serve the same rice recipe for less than a week. I think if I posted all the fried rice recipes that I cooked at home, then I should rather rename this blog as fried rice dot com. Anyway, here’s my another way of cooking shrimp fried rice, my hubby loves shrimps so much, so I think a fried rice, shrimps and a hot sauce would be a perfect meal for him.

This is quite different from the shrimp fried rice that I posted here few months ago, in this dish I added chicken breast, tomato paste and hot sauce which made its taste spicier and hotter.

Ingredients:
3 cups cooked rice
1 egg, beaten
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 stalks green onions, chopped (separate the white part)
20-25 pcs. shrimps, peeled and cut into half lengthwise
½ chicken breast, sliced into strips
Light soy sauce, to taste
½ cup chopped carrots
2 tbsp. tomato paste
1 tbsp. hot sauce
1/4 tsp. Black pepper powder
Salt and pepper to taste
3 tbsp. cooking oil
Cooking spray

Directions:
1. Heat and grease the wok with a cooking spray, cook and scramble the egg until done, transfer to a plate and set aside.
2. Pour the cooking oil on the same wok, heat then sauté garlic for few seconds, add white part of onions, shrimps and chicken . Season with light soy sauce, stir and cook until shrimps change its color. Take the 1/3 part of the mixture, transfer to a plate and set aside.
3. Add carrots and tomato paste to the remaining shrimp mixture, mix well and cook for 1 minute. Add rice, stir and cook until all rice grains are heated through. Sprinkle with generous amount of black pepper powder. Season with salt and pepper. Turn off heat, then add green onions and cooked egg. Stir to mix well.
4. Transfer to a serving dish, add the previously cooked shrimp mixture on top of rice.

Related Posts:
Shrimp Fried Rice
Chicken Fried Rice
Fried rice with Pineapple
Tips in cooking Fried Rice

2 Responses

  1. I like your recipes, so simple and all ingredients are easy to find! keep posting 🙂

  2. Anonymous, thanks for appreciation, the recipes are simple because I’m still a beginner and I don’t know how to complicate things yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

