Fish Majboos

Here’s my another cooking experiment, it’s been a long time that I wanted cook this dish but since it takes too much time to prepare, I found the lazy side of me dominates my cooking adventure so I did not able to cook it until the other day. Few months ago, I made for the first time my own version of Chicken Majboos and I was very glad that I cooked it according to my taste buds satisfaction since as I always mentioned that I really hate some strong arabic spices, so that’s why whenever I tried to cook arabic dish, I always make sure that no strong spices will be included. In this dish, I used pomfret fish since I like its taste when it is being fried.

Ingredients:
3 cup long grain rice
5 pcs. whole pomfret fish
1 medium carrot, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1 large onion, thinly sliced
1 thumb-sized ginger, minced
1 tsp. (or more) black pepper powder
1 tbsp. lemon juice
3 tbsp. tomato paste
1 tsp. turmeric powder
1 tsp/ salt
cooking oil, enough to fry the fish
Water

Directions:
1. Clean the fish, remove the intestine, wash thorougly then slit each of the fish side with a knife lenghtwise to make a small opening. Sprinkle the fishes with 1/2 tsp. of the turmeric powder then fill the slits with few amount of salt and black pepper powder. Let it stand for 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, wash the rice, then soak in water for 10 minutes. Drain. Fill a medium pot with enough water, add 1 tbsp. oil and 1 tsp. salt, bring to a boil. Add rice and cook for 5-6 minutes. Drain and set aside.

3. Heat the cooking oil in a pan and fry the carrots for few minutes, remove from oil and set aside. Then fry the fishes until golden brown. Transfer to paper towels. Set aside.

4. Take 3 tbsp. from the used oil, heat in a medium pot then saute garlic, onion and ginger until tender. Add carrots, bell pepper, tomato paste, lemon juice, 1/2 tsp. turmeric powder, black pepper and salt, stir. Add rice to the mixture and stir to mix well. Reduce heat to very low and cook for 15 minutes.

5. Transfer to a platter and put all the fried fishes on top of rice. Serve with Dakkous.

Related Post:
Chicken Majboos

Leave a Reply

