Sweet Potato (Ube) Cream

The photo below has been saved in my folder since few months ago and I was always hesitant to post it here because I really don’t know what its appropriate name. In our town in Philippines, we used to call it Ube Cream and I don’t know why they called it with that name. Actually, this was made with mashed sweet poatato (kamote in tagalog and ube in maguindanaon dialect), sugar and milk. Other variation includes butter or margarine and chopped peanuts.

My husband bought some sweet potatoes few months ago and Donna asked me if I was familiar with Ube Cream, I said yes of course, so she asked me to teach her how to make it, when I told her how, she immediately boiled the sweet potatoes and made this one.

 

Ingredients:
Sweet Potatoes, peeled and boiled
Condensed milk
Butter or margarine
Roasted or fried peanuts, chopped

Directions:
1. Mash the boiled potatoes until smooth.
2. Add enough amount of condensed milk on it to sweetened, the mixture should be a little bit creamy.
3. Cover a tray surface with a cling film, then spread the mixture on it about half inch thick. Smoothen the surface evenly.
4. Spread enough amount of margarine or butter over the flattened mixture then sprinkle some chopped peanuts on top.
5. Put in a freezer for 1-2 hours. Slice before serving.

Leave a Reply

