Donna’s Strawberry Gelato

It’s been a long time that I did not able to update this blog since my Aunt borrowed my camera few weeks ago, I used my cellphone to take photos of the dishes that I cooked few days ago but I was not satisfied with the outcome, not so clear. She just returned it the other day. The recipe that I am posting now was not mine, it was from Donna’s collection of recipes. She showed it to me few months ago and when I saw the strawberries at home, I remembered that she has a recipe for Strawberry Gelato, that’s why I asked her to make one. We both tried to make the recipe, she prepared the strawberries while I was mixing the other ingredients. As you see in the picture, the color is not pink like the usual strawberry gelato since the recipe calls for a red food color but we didn’t had it at home that time, the only food color left at home was green so that wouldn’t be possible. I also added chocolate syrup on top when I served it and it was really good.

Ingredients:
3 cups cut-up strawberries
6 cups milk
1 1/3 cups sugar
12 egg yolks, beaten
Several drops red food coloring

Directions:
1. Place all the cut-up strawberries in a blender container, cover and blend until smooth.
2. Combine 3 cups of the milk, sugar and egg yolks in a large saucepan. Cook and stir over medium heat until mixture coats a spoon.
3. Remove from heat. Stir in the remaining milk, the pureed strawberries, and food coloring.
4. Cover surface of mixture with cling film. Refrigerate 8 hours or overnight until chilled.
5. Freeze mixture for 4 hours. Serve.

5 Responses

  1. hi! I just browse this site last night and enjoyed reading all your post. In fact it took me until 4:00 am before i went to sleep. We went strawberry picking the other day so we have lots of strawberies in the fridge now that’s why i want to try this recipe. I’m just wondering what kind of milk to mix with it. Thank you very much!

  2. By the way, how you mold it? It looks like its a circle. Thanks again! I can’t wait to try it.

  3. Bing, thanks for visiting my blog… šŸ™‚
    I used fresh milk in this recipe.
    It’s look like a circle becasue I used ice scream scoop on it. šŸ™‚

  4. ok thanks a lot. i will try it this weekend.

  5. WALA KA BANG IBANG RECIPE NA MAY MALUNGAY?

Leave a Reply

