Fried Zucchini

I posted this dish under the appetizer and vegetables because when we ate it yesterday I noticed that it was really a great appetizer. When I served it, my hubby asked me before he tried it if it was a fish fritters or what, I said no, it was vegetable. When my sister Jong tried it, she asked me what vegetable it is, she did not recognized it. After a while, my little Azhfaar said, “Mama chicken” and he was pointing at the fried zucchini, he thought it was chicken nuggets because it resembled the shape of chicken nuggets that he always ate.  I gave him one piece of it but when he ate it, I think he noticed that it was not chicken at all because he did not asked for more, lol!

Ingredients:
4 pcs. zucchini, sliced thinly and diagonally
1 tbsp. minced onion
1/4 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. fish sauce
1/4 tsp. black pepper powder
1 tbsp. oil

1 cup bread crumbs
1 cup tempura flour (all-purpose flour will do)
1 egg, beaten with a pinch of salt
Oil for deep frying

Directions:
1. Heat 1 tbsp. oil in a skillet, saute onion, then add zucchini, chili powder, fish sauce and black pepper. Stir and cook for 1 minute. Remove from heat, set aside.
2. Dredge each zucchini slice into the flour, then dip in egg, then coat with the breadcrumbs.
3. Deep fry in hot oil until golden brown, drain in paper towels. Serve with your favorite dipping sauce.

Leave a Reply

