Chicken Afritada

I always cooked this recipe when I have no prior plan on what to cook for our dinner because all the necessary ingredients are always available at home daily and it is very easy to prepare also. Moreover, there’s no need for me to think what to do with the rice because we like it most when served with plain rice. I like to drizzle the sauce to the rice, I learned that from my hubby and it was really good. Our little Azhfaar likes it also.
When I cooked chicken or any meat, I usually sliced it into small portions, (I think you already noticed that in my previous posts here) because we want the sauce to penetrate deep inside the meat. Sometimes the meat vendors here in Kuwait wondered why I let them sliced it into such a small and they were used of the way Arabs sliced it, very big.

Ingredients:
700 g chicken, sliced into sering portions
1 medium carrot, cubed
2 medium potatoes, cubed
1 green bell pepper, sliced into strips
1/2 cup frozen green peas, thawed
2/3 cup tomato sauce
2 tbsp. soy sauce
2 tbsp. oyster sauce
2 cups chicken broth
1 onion, sliced thinly
3 cloves garlic, crushed
1 thumb-size ginger, crushed
1 tsp. whole peppercorns
3 tbsp. cooking oil
1/2 tsp. sugar
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Heat oil in a pan, fry the chicken until slightly brown, add garlic, onion and ginger. Stir to mix well.
2. Add potatoes, broth, peppercorns and tomato sauce. Let it boil, lower the heat and simmer until the chicken are done.
3. Add carrots and soy sauce, simmer for 3-4 minutes then add the rest of the ingredients. Adjust the seasoing and cook until done. Serve.

Leave a Reply

