Banana Blossom with Coconut Milk

I rarely find good quality and fresh banana blossoms here, whenever I buy one, I always noticed that it was already stocked several days ago. I always wanted to make banana blossoms salad because I really miss my mother’s salad way back home but I was always frustrated whenever I opened and tried to slice it and found out that it wasn’t fresh at all. So I have no choice but to cook it over HOT FLAME!

Ingredients:
1 medium banana blossom, sliced
Water
1 large zucchini, sliced
2 cups thick coconut milk
3 cups chicken broth
1 onion, sliced
1 ripe tomato, quartered
2 tbsp. crushed ginger
1 tbsp. fish sauce
1 medium sliced of smoked tuna mackerel
½ tsp. sugar
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Put banana blossoms in a pot, add enough water to cover, heat over medium-high and bring to a boil, simmer until tender. Remove from the heat and drain.
2. Return the drained banana blossoms into the pot, add broth, zucchini, onion, ginger, fish sauce and smoked tuna mackerel. Put over medium heat, let it boil. Cook until the zucchini are tender.
3. Add tomato, coconut milk and sugar, season with salt and pepper. Cook for 3 minutes. Serve.

Leave a Reply

