Maja ala Rieaane’s

I named it Maja ala Rieaane’s because I’ve been cooking this dish since I was 14 years old as a product of my experimentation before, until I made it exactly what I wanted it to be. When I perfected it, I prepared one during my graduation day in Arabic (8th grade)before and it was really “sold” out. Somebody asked me what was its name, I just simpy answered that it was Maja, they never recognized it, I don’t know why. It’s been a long time that I never cook it until last night and this is the first time that I will share its recipe.

 

Ingredients:
2 cups cornstarch
1 cup evaporated milk
2 cups coconut milk
1 cup buko juice
1/2 cup powdered milk
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup corn kernel, drained
1/2 cup shredded buko (young coconut)
1/2 cup red nata de coco, drained
1l2 cup green nata de coco, drained
1 tsp. vanilla
ground roasted peanuts for garnish

Directions:
1. Combine cornstarch, powdered and evaporated milk in a bowl, mix well until all the powder are dissolved.
2. In a pot, put coconut milk, buko juice, sugar and salt, heat and bring to a boil.
3. Reduce the heat, add the cornstarch mixture and the rest of the ingredients, stir constantly in one direction only until well blended.
4. Don’s stop stirring until fully cooked, about 4-5 minutes.
5. Off the heat, transfer to a molder.
6. Chill for half an hour before serving. Garnish with the peanuts. (Garnish only when you are about to serve it to retain the crispiness of the peanuts)

Tips: Slice the nata de coco into half so that it will be easy to bite. If you can make it smaller than that then it would be much better.

See also:
Maja Maiz
Maja Ube

One Response

  1. […] most of all…i really love its simple taste. I posted 3 maja recipes (Maja Maiz, Maja Ube, Maja ala Rieaanes ) in this blog already long time back and I noticed that most of my visitors were looking for maja […]

Leave a Reply

