Soto Ayam (my own style)

Soto ayam is a dish of spicy chicken soup with vermicelli, commonly found in Indonesia and Singapore. Besides chicken, the soup is served with hard-boiled eggs and some vegetables. I read one of its recipes last week and it has many ingredients which make it very hot and spicy, some are unknown to me, I’m afraid it might not suit our taste buds especially to my hubby. Then, the other day I decided to cook one with my own style and served it on Iftar time. My sister asked me what I am cooking because she sweated when she smelled it. LOL! My hubby ate almost all what’s there in the picture, only few soup were left. After an hour, we decided to go out to buy something, while we were in car we talked about some international foods and then my hubby said he likes Thai dishes so much and hated Indonesian foods. Then, I asked him what he thinks about the food I served on Iftar that night, “it’s nice, good” he answered. “Why, was that and Indonesian food?”, he asked and I just smiled.

Ingredients:
1 chicken breast
6 cups water
1 onion, sliced
1 thumb-sized ginger, crushed
1 medium tomato, quartered
3 pcs. lime leaves
1 stalk lemon grass, sliced
1 thumb-sized galangal root
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp. tumeric powder
2 eggs, hard-boiled and sliced
1 cup mung bean sprouts, blanched
100 g sotanghon noodles, cooked
some corriander
salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp. fish sauce
1 tsp. sugar

Directions:
1. Rub the tumeric powder to the chicken breast until all side are coated.
2. In a pot, combine water, lemon grass, lime leaves, galangal root and salt. Bring to a boil.
3. Add the chicken breast and cook until done. Remove from broth, let cool and dry, flake the breasts and remove the bones and cartilage and set this aside.
4. Heat the broth again and add onions, tomatoes, garlic, sugar and fish sauce. Bring to a boil. Adjust the seasoning. Turn off heat when done.
5. In a large platter, place the mung bean sprouts, sliced egg, noodles, chicken flakes and corriander.
6. To serve, take some of all the ingredients from the platter and put it in a bowl. Pour some soup on it, stir and that’s it.

One Response

  1. […] Wanna know what Soto Ayam is? Click here […]

Leave a Reply

