Beef with Ground Roasted Coconut

One of Moro’s especial delicacies, usually served on traditional wedding ceremonies and many occassions. I never tried to cook this when I was still in Philippines, then one day my brother asked me if I know how too cook it because he really miss that dish and I said I will try. Then I called my mother in Philippines and asked her how to make Palapa (Ground roasted coconut)because I want to cook beef as my brother requested so. She told me how and it was very simple. It was made of grated coconut and some spices. Since it is very hard to find fresh coconut here in Kuwait, I decided to use dessicated coconut.

Here’s how to make Palapa :
Combine some slices of onions, crushed ginger, few galangal root, salt and 1 cup dessicated coconut, place the mixture in a hot skillet over low-medium heat. Stirring constantly, roast until brown. Remove from the skillet, let it cool and grind.
Now, here’s the simple recipe for the beef:

Ingredients:
1 k beef, sliced into thin cubes
1/2 tsp. tumeric powder
2 medium onions, sliced thinly
4 cloves garlic, crushed
1 ripe tomato, sliced
1/4 cup ginger, strips
water
soy sauce to taste (optional)
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup cooking oil

Marinade:
2/3 cup palapa (ground roasted coconut)
1 onion, minced
2 tbsp. grated ginger
1 tsp. whole peppercorns
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup galangal root, strips

Directions:
1. Sprinkle tumeric powder to the meat, mix thoroughly, combine marinade together and then marinate for 30 minutes.
1. Heat oil in a pan, saute garlic until lightly brown, add onions, ginger and tomatoes. Saute until the tomatoes are very tender.
2. Add the meat with the marinade, stir to mix well. Then add water enough to cover. Bring to a boil, remove scums as it rises. Lower the heat, season with salt, pepper and soy sauce. Cover the pan and simmer for 1 hour or until done.

Leave a Reply

