Fish in Sweet and Spicy Sauce

I started cooking this recipe since I was in high school when my father bought a large fish and he requested my mother to cook it “like escabechi but very sweet not sour” LOL, that was how he described it. My mother asked me to cook it, I thought she was afraid she might not cook it according to my father’s taste so she passed it on to me, LOL!

I tried to cook it and wow my father liked it. Lapu-lapu is the best fish cooked in this way, but other meaty fish with scale will also do. Here’s the one I cooked the other night, I don’t know what’s the name of this fish!

Ingredients:
1 750 g whole fish, scaled and cleaned
2/3 cup snow peas
1 can 234 g pineapple slice with heavy syrup
1 bell pepper, sliced into strips
2 stalks green onions, cut 2 inches length (separate the white part)
2 ripe tomatoes, sliced
2 thumb-sized ginger, sliced into strips
4 cloves garlic, crushed
2 bay leaves
1 tsp. whole peppercorns
1 cube chicken bouillon
1/2 cup tomato sauce or sweet tomato ketchup
3 tbsp. oyster sauce
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 tbsp. sugar
2/3 cup chicken broth/water
1 long green pepper, chopped
Cooking oil, enough to fry the whole fish
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Salt the fish and fry in hot oil until done. Transfer to a platter and set aside.
2. Take 2 tbsp. from the used oil and heat in a skillet. Saute garlic until lightly brown, add onions, tomatoes and ginger and saute until the ginger are aromatic. Add the bell pepper, stir for a minute.
3. Add the broth, bay leaves, peppercorns,chicken cube, sugar, long green pepper, pineapple syrup, soy sauce and tomato sauce/ketchup. Bring to a boil.
4. Add the snow peas, white part of green onions, oyster sauce, salt and pepper. Simmer for 2 minutes.
5. Remove from heat and stir in the pineapple slices and green onions. Adjust the seasoning according to your taste.
6. Pour the mixture to the fried fish. Serve.

Leave a Reply

