Crispy Fried Okra

Yesterday, while I was browsing some Thai websites, I read one recipe which sounds appealing to me, CRISPY FRIED OKRA, wow sounds good!

So last night, I checked our refrigerator if we still have some okra so that I can try it, luckily I found but only few, about 10 pieces only. No problem, I will still try it. Actually, the recipe was very simple, so when I cooked I add some spices to taste even better. The result, wow, very crispy! For those who don’t like getting the slimy juice of okra, then this is the solution, very dry and no slimmy juice at all. The best way to eat this recipe is dip it in chili fish/soy sauce with lemon or a plain tomato ketchup.

Ingredients:
1 pound okra, half open lengthwise each
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
1/2 tsp. black pepper
2/3 cup cooking oil
salt to taste

Directions:
1. Mix all the flours, baking powder, salt, spices and water together. Stir and mix well. Drop the okra in, make sure that all side of the okra will be coated well with the batter.
2. Heat the oil in a wok or frying pan over medium heat.
3. Drop the okra in the pan separately and fry until golden brown.
4. Remove the okra onto a paper towel lined dish.

Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

