Shrimp with Bamboo Shoots

Bamboo shoot is the first kind of vegetable that I learned to eat during my younger age. My mother used to cook it with coconut milk with smoke tuna mackerel, it was so yummy! How I miss that dish. In Kuwait, I live here for more than 5 years and I never saw any fresh bamboo shoot at all, the taste of the bottled or canned bamboo shoots is far different from the fresh one but we don’t have any choice but to buy it when we want to eat this vegetable.

During my first year here in Kuwait, my hubby purchased a bottle of bamboo shoot, we cooked it to the best we can but when I tried it, I never touch it again. I told him that it was not bamboo shoot at all, he laughed at me and said someday you will learn to eat this because this is the only bamboo shoot we have here in Kuwait. So he was right, since I have no choice, I learned to like it later. The recipe below is one of my favorite way to cook it, I still have one bottle in our cabinet so I will post another bamboo shoot recipe few days from now.

Ingredients:
500 gm medium shrimps, peeled
1 can 350 gm bamboo shoots, sliced into desired sizes
1 medium carrot, sliced into desired size
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 onion, thinly sliced
1 tbsp. ginger strips
½ cup broth/water
2 tbsp. oyster sauce
1 stalk green onion, cut into 1 inch length
salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp. cooking oil

Directions:
1. Heat oil in a pan, saute garlic, onion and ginger until aromatic.
2. Add shrimps, carrots, bamboo shoots, and broth/water. Let it boil and cook until shrimps and vegetables are done. Season with salt and pepper.
3. Add oyster sauce and green onion. Cook for 1 minute. Serve.

One Response

  1. [...] Shoots with Coconut Milk Posted on May 28, 2008 by rieaane The first bamboo shoot recipe that I posted here was cooked in a stir-fry way without its traditional ingredients, the coconut [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

