Pineapple Pie

I was in a mood to cook something for our snack the other night and I don’t know why the first thing that came into my mind was to make a buko pie even though I knew that we didn’t have buko at home and we are too far from the Filipino supermarket to buy one. I think it’s because I just miss buko so much. So instead of buko pie, I just made pineapple pie, my hubby was out that night and at least he had something to munch by the time he returned home. Actually, that was my first time to make pineapple pie, I browsed my recipe collection and this is what I found, however I changed some of the ingredients’ amount, the original recipe calls for 2 cups flour but I added 1 cup to make it 3 since I found it too thin for the crust, I also reduced the amount of sugar from 1 cup to ½ only because I don’t like my pie to cause me diabetic someday, lol :)
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Ingredients:
For the Crust
3 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
¾ c butter
1/3 c oil
6-7 tbsp. cold water

For the Filling
2 c pineapple chunks/crushed
1 c pineapple juice
¼ c cornstarch
½ c white sugar

Directions:
For the Crust
1. In a large bowl, sift together flour and salt, cut butter into small cubes put in the flour mixture. Mix the flour and butter using 2 knives or pastry cutter.
2. Add water and mix well to make a right dough.
3. Divide the dough into 2 and warp each half with a plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

For the Filling
1. Mix all ingredients together, mix gradually by spoon. Make sure that there are no lumps after mixing it. Set aside.

Final Touch
1. Heat oven into 250 degrees C.
2. Get the other half part of the dough, use rolling pin to flatten it until it becomes thin and as big as the pie plate.
3. Transfer the flatten dough into the pie plate, then pour the filling over it.
4. Do the same thing with the remaining dough to cover the top of the filling.
5. Press the sides with fork so the crust would stick together.
6. Puncture the top with a fork for the steam to escape.
7. Brush the top with egg wash (1 beaten egg with 2 tbsp. water)
8. Bake within 30 minutes or until golden brown. Chill before serving.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

