Puto Cheese

A classic filipino dish which is very easy to prepare and delicious too. Even my hubby knows how to prepare it. My 2 year old son Azhfaar loves it so much. I always cooked it whenevr I cannot think of anything to prepare for our snack.

Ingredients:
3 cups all purpose flour
3 cups water
3 eggs
3 tbsp. baking powder
1 1/2 cup white sugar
1 cup milk powder
1/2 cup melted butter
grated cheese

Directions:
1.In a mixing bowl place all dry ingredients except the cheese and blend well.
2. Add eggs and mix thoroughly. Gradually add water until homogeneous.
3. Add the melted butter and mix well.
4. Place enough amount of batter in a paperlined puto moulder and steam for 10-15 minutes.
5. Sprinkle grated or thinly sliced cheese on top and steam for 1 minute or until cheese melts.

42 Responses

  1. [...] 5th, 2006 by rieaane I made this recipe as an experiment, this is almost similar to the Puto Cheese, the only big difference was the method of cooking, this was baked while the Puto Cheese was [...]

  2. THE RECIPE IS SOOOO DELICIOUS…THANKS!

  3. You’re welcome!

  4. I was looking for puto cheese recipes and yours seem to be the yummiest looking.
    I was reading the ingredients though and I have a few questions.

    You listed 3tbsp. baking powder twice does that mean I will need to use 6tbsp. of baking powder in all?
    And the measure of the sugar is 1 1/2, is it in cups or tbsp etc?
    I just want to have these clarifications before I make it.
    Thank you!

  5. Hi JDB, thanks for your comments, I really didn’t noticed that I wrote 3 tbsp. twice, it was a mistake. You will only use 3 tbsp. of baking powder and that was 1.5 cup sugar. I’m very sorry for that :(

    I will edit my post now…thanks again :)

  6. it seems like yummy looking puto. just curious what kind of milk powder did you use. PS…reply this would be a great dessert to serve this saturday…my niece’s bday. Thanks in advance.

  7. Hi eilasor, I used carnation powdered milk…thanks for your visit, have a nice day :)

  8. is it possible to use pasturized milk instead of powdered milk.
    how many cups of evaporated milk instead of the powder one

  9. Lisa, I did not able to try pasturized milk yet in puto cheese but I think you better try 1 cup evaporated milk instead of powder one and use 2 cups of water only instead of 3. Have a nice day!

  10. loved how you styled your cheese toppings! might do that the next time with my puto cheese.

  11. Hi Ri, I always made it that way, thanks for appreciation and viewing my blog as well :)

  12. hello.. i tried the pechay soup and semi stir fried chicken recipe… had my niece appreciation… would love to try another one of your recipe… this looks tempting.. :)

  13. What cheese do you use?

  14. Madamchuva, thanks for appreciation also… hae a nice day.

    Susan, I used kraft cheddar cheese. :)

  15. Thank you so much. My husband and I had fun cooking your puto cheese last weekend. We made them without cheese, though. They are so yummy!!! I brought some to work today, and my co-workers loved them. Can’t wait to try them with cheese. I also made your garlic fried rice. My family gave it five stars. Your “My-style chicken fillet” is in my menu for this week. Thanks again.

  16. hi…im so happy i found a puto cheese recipe that looks so yummy and easy to make..i just want to ask a question f u dont mind..can i replace 3 cups of water with 3 cups of milk and i will not use or add the powdered milk?does the taste the same or much yummy coz of pure milk?i will make this next week for my moms bday and i wanted it to be special coz she likes puto cheese a lot..thank u so much for sharing ur recipe…:)

  17. Hi destiny, very nice question because you know what? I made this recipe 2 weeks ago by using 3 cups of milk because I ran out of powdered milk and the result was very yummy. So the answer is YES you can! thanks for visiting my blog, have anice day!

  18. Hi there,

    I’m so excited to find your recipe, i’ve been searching the web and yours is by far the best one. Have you ever tried using rice flour or cake flour instead of all purpose flour?

  19. Hi Alma, thanks for dropping bye but sad to say that I did not able to try rice flour yet in this recipe. I think you gave me an idea, I will try it one of these days. :)

  20. hi…what if i dont have a milk power..?what will i use?
    thanks

  21. Hi! I have a puto cheese recipe but I am not really satisfied with the taste. Your recipe seems to be better and I am planning to try it. I have a few questions though before i do:
    1. Do you use an electric mixer or If not, what do you use for mixing the ingredients? Is there any danger of overmixing the mixture.
    2. From my experience, the batter becomes lumpy when I add the liquid into the dry ingredients so I end up straining the mixture first to remove the lumps. Do you have any suggestions to prevent this from happening?
    3. I usually pour the batter directly into a muffin pan and the puto still comes out easily. Is it okay to do this for your recipe?

    Thank you very much for sharing your recipes.

  22. anthea, substitute milk powder by using any liquid milk instead of water. :)

    Baby,
    1. I used electric hand mixer to mix the ingredients and based on my experience there will be no danger in overmixing the puto ingredients, unless you’re making muffins because overmixing it will ruin the texture.
    2. Here’s the secret, if you’re not using electric mixer, it’s better to mix the liquid ingredients first then followed by the dry one to avoid getting a lumpy batter.
    3. In this recipe it’s okay to pour the batter directly to the muffin pan, using wax paper is just optional or for presentation only, the taste will always be the same.

  23. you puto cheese looks yummy im gonna try this one. i hope you will have a recipe for chocolate cake too.

  24. Donna, thanks for the comment, try it and tell me how is it, okay? I’m sorry but I still don’t have good recipe for chocolate cake until now, that’s why I always buy the ready to bake chocolate cake mix whenever I wanted to bake chocolate cake. :( have a nice day!

  25. i love puto..since i don’t have a steamer in Uk i was wondering if i could bake it instead if not any ideas for improvised steamer>? tnx a lot

  26. good day! I just want to ask how many days before the puto expires or gets rotten?

  27. Joanne, I tried baking it few months ago and it turned out like bibingka, lol :)

    Rosalyn, this recipe is good for 2-3 days.

  28. good day! i just want to ask if its ok if i use skim milk instead of evap?… thank you… ^_^

  29. Sae, yes it’s okay to use skim milk. though the taste may be different :)

  30. Hi!.. i was wondering if its ok if i’ll prepare the mixture at night,, and cook it in the morning?… T_T

  31. hi! wow your recipes are so yummy……. i think i can make business with this specially christmas is coming!!!

  32. just like to ask if the eggs no need to beat? thanks!

  33. thanks sa recipe. its very yummy.

  34. hi,

    thank u for sharing this recipe,its really very good and easy to make

  35. thanx for sharing your recipe its really yummy..

  36. hi! is it ok to bake this instead of steaming it? if so, how many degrees and for how long?

  37. is there any replacement for butter?
    i can’t see selling here a butter.

  38. Thanks for sharing your recipe. It’s delicious and very easy to make… Love it! :)

  39. I’ve used this recipe million times now.
    Thank you!

  40. hi! gud evening! im so thankful that i found this puto cheese recipe of yours. im so eager to try it when i arrive home. surely we will like and love it! MORE POWER!!! Im hoping to try your other recipes sooner!!! Favor pls? any suggestions of delicious recipes for Christmas. my hubby is coming home this december from his 6mos.contract as seaman.
    thank u!

  41. Hi! What can I use as a moulder? I don’t have those plastic ones and don’t know where to buy them. The one used for cupcakes, will that be ok? Thanks.

  42. thanks for the recipe..

    been looking for this..

    i’m gonna try this one

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

